Things That Will Happen in Alabama Over Christmas. Get Ready.

Temperatures dipped briefly below sixty degrees today. What did I do in celebration? Over-committed to thick wool sweater and started making plans.

Quick sidebar: The cashier at Central Market this evening asked me if I was enjoying this cool weather and I promptly confessed my sweater-related mistake. She said that she’d done much, much worse and raised an Ugg-clad foot. For those of you just now tuning in, my Ashley Bruette Approved Theory on Uggs is that snow should be actively falling from the sky and/or sticking to the ground. As a matter of fact, I groan outwardly each time I see the Ugg display at Nordstrom. I don’t think retailers in Austin should be allowed to sell these things. They just aren’t needed. {Rant complete}

Back to my plans. HOLIDAY PLANS. B and I took a Thanksgiving Day Adventure last year and have decided to do it again this year. Only bigger. We’re heading to Big Bend National Park for a couple of days and I can’t wait. I’m so excited about all of the photo-taking opportunities that I went out and bought a back-up battery and memory card. And a little peak into our relationship: while I was securing additional camera gear, B was ordering a satellite phone and two cans of Fix-a-Flat. Safety first! If it were left to me there would be a better than even chance we’d leave Austin with a pack of Diet Mountain Dews, a quarter tank of gas, and no cash.

From the Vault: Christmas 2006

And then there is Christmas. Christmas in ALABAMA.

In honor of making plans and making lists (and to give my siblings as much warning as possible), here are

Things That Will Happen in Alabama Over Christmas:

Cocktails: Christmas Margarita Punch, Bloody Marys, and our old Christmas standard, Mimosas. Oh. And bourbon drinks, because that’s how we roll year round.

Also likely to happen: Aunt Beff will need to be told to Shhh. This should come as a surprise to no one.

After the drinks – during most likely – there will be some baking. Like Cinnamon Sugar Roasted Pecans, Chocolate-Coconut Bars, and Cranberry Cake. Hey. Don’t judge. There will be no dieting during Christmas.

Shopping with babies is also a common occurrence. We go, they go.

Other things will need to happen too, like going to the dentist, gift wrapping, and last minute errands, but those aren’t nearly as fun to blog about. Get ready people. This is happening.

Our little elf overseeing gift wrapping on the pool table – this year we’ll have two little ones to help! Sorry for the blurriness – it’s too cute not to share.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Life

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Things That Will Happen in Alabama Over Christmas. Get Ready.”

  1. Meredith Clark Craven
    November 13, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    This post makes me happy!!! So glad you are all going to be home for Christmas! It sounds like you already have a pretty full schedule…. but if you get a few free hours, you should come see our house! I’ll even feed you, if that will help convince you.

    • November 13, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      I’m excited too!! I’d love to come up for dinner – maybe after Christmas? We’ll be there that whole week.

  2. Meredith Clark Craven
    November 14, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    After Christmas is good. I’m off that whole week!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Links: Because Sometimes Writing is Hard. | South & Town - November 14, 2012

    […] The Traveler’s Bed Bug Thwarting Sleeping Cocoon. I’m taking a sleeping bag on our Thanksgiving trip for this express purpose, but now I’m wondering if it’s fibers are “more than 1 […]

Thoughts? Talk to me.