Southwestern Week in the Kitchen

Saturday’s football festivities were sure to be exhausting (and they were!) so I planned our menu accordingly. The theme was “Appetizers.” I figured the more snacks we had, the better we’d be able to cheer Alabama on to VICTORY! Bama won, so clearly my plan worked.

First was Annie’s Eats Baked Southwestern Egg Rolls. They turned into Beth’s Southwestern Wontons though, as I brought the wrong size wrapper home from the grocery store and there was no way I was going back. They were just as tasty as the first time we made them in Tuscaloosa. Of course, the homemade queso didn’t hurt (more on that later).

I only made a couple dozen wontons and had bunches of the filling leftover, so dinners this week have been very creative.

Last night was Southwestern Chicken Bowl – one cup of Southwestern Egg Roll filling, one cup of diced roast chicken, and tortilla chips. It was wonderful! Filling, healthy-ish, and very tasty. This dish weighed in at 12 Weight Watchers points (3 for the vegetable mixture, 5 for the chicken, and 4 for the tortilla chips – which were totally worth it).

Tonight’s dinner experiment was inspired by pizza dough that had done a slow rise in the refrigerator for so long it was threatening to explode. Looks pretty good though, don’t you think?

I rolled out the dough and spread the remaining two cups of Southwestern mixture. After 14 minutes in a 425° oven, dinner was served! B is calling this Corn Pizza. I think he just wants to overlook the fact that it has so much spinach in it 😉 And at only 6 Weight Watchers points per piece, I had two.

This mixture would also make great quesadilla filling or nacho toppings. I’ve decided that it’s too good to save for special occasions!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Food & Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Thoughts? Talk to me.